7584210 - acoustic guitar

The Glendale Arts Commission previewed an interactive art project that saw 40 Caitlin Court Historical District merchants painting wooden guitars to display Downtown. 

The “What Does Music Mean to You?” project will complement the upcoming Live! @ Murphy Park Spring Concert Series this May. The guitars are expected to be displayed throughout Downtown Glendale to build excitement for the concerts. 

“If for some odd reason the Murphy Park series has to be canceled because of COVID, there is still this great art piece opportunity in the Downtown area,” said Heidi Barriga, the city’s special events administrator. 

The concert series kicks off on Thursday, May 6, with Mariachi Pasion, and continues through Sunday, May 30, at Murphy Park’s Amphitheater. Featured after Mariachi Pasion are: Barrio Latino on Friday, May 7; The Sugar Thieves on Saturday, May 8; Supernatural on Sunday, May 9; Walt Richardson and Friends on Thursday, May 13; Shallow Water on Friday, May 14; Marmalade Skies on Saturday, May 15; Chuck Hall Trio on Sunday, May 16; Sugahbeat on Thursday, May 20; Mogollon on Friday, May 21; Pearl Ridge on Saturday, May 22; Henry Thompson and the KC Angels on Sunday, May 23; Carvin Jones on Thursday, May 27; Rock Lobster on Friday, May 28; “Garth Brooks Live Tribute Show” on Saturday, May 29; and “Come Back Buddy” on Sunday, May 30.

All concerts begin at 7 p.m.; admission is free, as is parking. Guests should expect the show to last around two hours each night.

The Arts Commission partnered with C+D Design, who created the wooden guitar cutouts.

“We really feel that this can live past that Live at Murphy Park Series. Media-wise, it could be something fun right now, and I think we all need that,” Barriga said.

The Downtown merchants who created guitar art were asked to show what music meant to them. They were provided with a 36-inch wooden guitar cutout and basic painting supplies.

“I am a business owner in Downtown Glendale and oversee our merchants association,” said Commissioner Lorraine Zomok. “Heidi was kind enough to reach out to us a few days ago, and we right away said, ‘Order 24 of them because 24 of the businesses in Downtown Glendale happen to be members of our association.’”

On Feb. 27, the arts commission approved the funding to partner with city special events. The commission set the budget at $10,000 for the project supplies, display and lighting for the artwork.

“Hopefully, this will be very successful and continue, and over time, we can see these things displayed by the merchants for a long time and kind of collect some pride among the merchants in our area,” said Commissioner Chris Kennedy.

The lit guitars will hang from tree branches and will have QR codes that link to a city page that describes the artwork and the business associated with it.

“It’s so exciting to think that we’re going to be going to live events again,” said Nicole Riley, Glendale Arts Commission chair.